Books and Reference Works

Contact Us

The information provided is from the APA Manual, 7th ed. Section 10.2

Books category includes authored books, edited books, anthologies, religious works, and classical works.
The reference works category includes dictionaries, encyclopedias (including Wikipedia), and diagnostic manuals.

Book and Reference Works Template located in Section 10.2 of the APA Manual, 7th ed.
			Source
Author or editor	Date	Title	Publisher information	DOI or URL
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. Name of Group. Editor, E. E. (Ed.). Editor, E. E., & Editor, F. F. (Eds.).	(2020).	Title of book. Title of book (2nd ed., Vol. 4). Title of book [Audiobook]. Title of book (E. E. Editor, Ed.). Title of book (T. Translator, Trans.; N. Narrator, Narr.).	Publisher Name. First Publisher Name; Second Publisher Name.	https://doi.org/xxxx https://xxxxx

Provide the author(s) and/or editor(s) names, year of publication, title, and publisher of the book.

Use the abbreviation "(Ed.)' for one editor and the abbreviation "(Eds.)' for multiple editors, followed by a period. In the case of multiple editors, include the role once, after all the names.

If the work contains a DOI, include the DOI in the reference after the publisher name.

Do not include the publisher location.

If the work is in a different language, include the translation of the book in square brackets (see section 9.38).

Example: Author, A., A. (Date). Nihongo no goi tokusei [Lexical characteristics of Japanese language] (Vol. 7). Publisher information.

The information provided is from the APA Manual, 7th ed. Section 10.2

20. Authored book with a DOI

Brown, L. S. (2018). Feminist Therapy (2nd ed.). American Psychology Association.

https://doi.org/10.1037/0000092-000

Parenthetical citation: (Brown, 2018)
Narrative citation: Brown (2018)

21. Authored book without a DOI, from most academic research databases or print version
Regarding the inclusion of database information in references, refer to Section 9.30 in the APA Manual, 7th ed.

Burgess, R. (2019). Rethinking global health: Frameworks of power. Routledge.

Parenthetical citation: (Burgess, 2019)
Narrative citation: Burgess (2019)

24. Edited book with a DOI, with multiple publishers
Use a semicolon to separate multiple publisher names.

Schmid, H.-J. (Ed.). (2017). Entrenchment and the psychology of language learning: How

we reorganize and adapt linguistic knowledge. American Psychological Association;

De Gruyter Mouton. https://doi.org/10.1037/15969-000

Parenthetical citation: (Schmid, 2017)
Narrative citation: Schmid (2017)

31. Book in a series

Madigan, S. (2019). Narrative therapy (2nd ed.). American Psychological Association.

https://doi.org/10.1037/0000131-000

Parenthetical citation: (Madigan, 2019)
Narrative citation: Madigan (2019)

For more book and reference work examples, please refer to the APA Manual, 7th ed. Section 10.2 and the APA Style website.

The information provided is from the APA Manual, 7th ed. Section 10.2

Helpful tip:

As long as the content is the same while using an audiobook versus a book or ebook, it is not necessary to place it in the reference even when the formatting is different.
However, do note that the work is an audiobook in the title element when the content is different (e.g., abridged), if you want to note something special about the audiobook (e.g., the impact of the narration on the listener), or if you quote from the audiobook (refer to Section 8.28 in the APA Manual, 7th ed.).
If the audiobook was released in a different year from the text version of the book, treat the work as republished (refer to example 29 in Section 10.2 in the APA Manual, 7th ed.).

22. Authored ebook (e.g., Kindle book) or audiobook without DOI, with a non-database URL

Cain, S., (2012). Quiet: The power of introverts in a world that can't stop talking (K. Mazur,

Narr.) [Audiobook]. Random House Audio. http://bit.ly/2G0Bpbl

Christian, B., & Griffiths, T. (2016). Algorithms to live by: The computer science of human

decisions. Henry Holt and Co. http://a.co/7qGBZAk

Parenthetical citation: (Cain, 2012; Christian & Griffiths, 2016)
Narrative citation: Cain (2012) and Christian and Griffiths (2016)

26. Edited ebook (e.g., Kindle book) or audiobook without DOI, with a non-database URL

Pridham, K. F., Limbo, R., & Schroeder, M. (Eds.). (2018). Guided participation in pediat-

tic nursing practice: Relationship-based teaching and learning with parents, children,

adolescents. Springer Publishing Company. http://a.co/OlAiVgt

Parenthetical citation: (Pridham et al., 2018)
Narrative citation: Pridham et al. (2018)

For more book and reference work examples, please refer to the APA Manual, 7th ed. Section 10.2 and the APA Style website.

The information provided is from the APA Manual, 7th ed. Section 10.2

33. Dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia
Helpful Tip:

A retrieval date is not needed when a stable or archived version of the work is cited.
When an online reference work is continuously updated (see Section 9.15) and the versions are not archived, use "n.d." as the year of publication and include a retrieval date (see Section 9.16).

American Psychological Association. (n.d.). APA dictionary of psychology. Retrieved June

14, 2019, from https://dictionary.apa.org/

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved May 5, 2019, from

https://www.merriam-webster.com/

Zalta, E. N. (ed.). (2019). The Stanford encyclopedia of philosophy (Summer 2019 ed.).

Stanford University. https://plato.stanford.edu/archives/sum2019

Parenthetical citations: (American Psychological Association, n.d.; Merriam-Webster, n.d.; Zalta, 2019)
Narrative citations: American Psychological Association (n.d.), Merriam-Webster (n.d.), and Zalta (2019)

35. Religious work
For more on citing religious works, see Section 9.42; to cite a specific book or verse, see Section 8.13; to quote a passage, see Section 8.28.
Additional examples of religious texts are available on the APA Style website

King James Bible. (2017). King James Bible Online. https://www.kingjamesbibleonline.

org/ (Original work published 1796)

The Qur'an (M. A. S. Abdel Haleem, Trans.). (2004). Oxford University Press.

The Torah: The five books of Moses (3rd ed.). (2015). The Jewish Publication Society.

(Original work published 1962)

Parenthetical citations: (King James Bible, 1769/2017; The Qur'an (2004); The Torah, 1962/2015)
Narrative citations: King James Bible (1769/2017), The Qur'an (2004), and The Torah (1962/2015)

37. Shakespeare
For more on citing Shakespeare and other works of classical literature, see Section 9.42; to cite a specific act, scene, or line, see Section 8.13; to quote a passage, see Section 8.28.

Shakespeare, W. (1995). Much ado about nothing (B. A. Mowat & P. Werstine, Eds.).

Washington Square Press. (Original work published 1623)

Parenthetical citation: (Shakespeare, 1623/1995)
Narrative citation: Shakespeare (1623/1995)

For more book and reference work examples, please refer to the APA Manual, 7th ed. Section 10.2 and the APA Style website.

Edited Book Chapters and Entries in Reference Works

The information provided is from the APA Manual, 7th ed. Section 10.3 and the APA Style website

Edited books chapter category includes chapters of edited books and works in anthologies.
The entries in reference works category include dictionaries, thesaurus, and encyclopedias entries.

Book and Reference Works Template located in Section 10.2 of the APA Manual, 7th ed.
			Source
Chapter author	Date	Chapter title	Edited book information	DOI or URL
Author, A. A, & Author, B. B. Name of Group.	(2020).	Title of chapter.	In E. E. Editor (Ed.), Title of book (pp. 3-13). Publisher Name. In E. E. Editor & F. F. Editor (Eds.), Title of book (3rd ed., Vol. 2, pp. 212-255). Publisher Name.	https://doi.org/xxxx https://xxxxx

Include the DOI in the reference after the publisher name if it is available.

Do not include the publisher location.

Do not create references for chapters of authored books. Instead, write a reference for the whole authored book and cite the chapter in the text if desired.

The information provided is from the APA Manual, 7th ed. Section 10.3

38. Chapter in an edited book with a DOI

Balsam, K. F., Martell, C. R., Jones, K. P., & Safren, S. A. (2019). Affirmative cognitive

behavior therapy with sexual and gender minority people. In G. Y. Iwamasa & P. A.

Hays (Eds.), Culturally responsive cognitive behavior therapy: Practice and supervi-

sion (2nd ed., pp. 287-314). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/

10.1037/0000119-012

Parenthetical citation: (Balsam et al., 2019)
Narrative citation: Balsam et al. (2019)

39. Chapter in an edited book without a DOI, from most academic research databases or print version
For more on including database information in references, see Section 9.30.

Weinstock, R. Leong, G. B., & Silva, J. A. (2003). Defining forensic psychiatry: Roles and

responsibilities. In R. Rosner (Ed.), Principles and practice of forensic psychiatry (2nd

ed., pp. 7-13). CRC Press.

Parenthetical citation: (Weinstock et al., 2003)
Narrative citation: Weinstock et al. (2003)

40. Chapter in an edited ebook (e.g., Kindle book) or audiobook without a DOI, with nondatabase URL
See Examples 22 and 29 from Section 10.2 for further information about audiobooks.

Tafoya, N., & Del Vecchio, A. (2005). Back to the future: An examination of the Native

American Holocaust experience. In M. McGoldrick, J. Giordano, & N. Garcia-Preto

(Eds.), Ethnicity and family therapy (3rd ed., pp. 55-63). Guilford Press. https://a.

co/36xRhBT

Parenthetical citation: (Tafoya & Del Vecchio, 2005)
Narrative citation: Tafoya and Del Vecchio (2005)

For more book and reference work examples, please refer to the APA Manual, 7th ed. Section 10.3 and the APA Style website.

The information provided is from the APA Manual, 7th ed. Section 10.3

47. Entry in a dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia, with group author
When an online reference work is continuously updated (see Section 9.15) and the versions are not archived, use "n.d." as the year of publication and include a retrieval date (see Section 9.16).

American Psychological Association. (n.d.). Positive transference. In APA dictionary of

psychology. Retrieved August 31, 2019, from https://dictionary.apa.org/positive-

transference

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Self-report. In Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved July

12, 2019, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/self-report

Parenthetical citations: (American Psychological Association, n.d.; Merriam-Webster, n.d.)
Narrative citations: American Psychological Association (n.d.) and Merriam-Webster (n.d.)

48. Entry in a dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia, with individual author
This example is structured similarly to the reference for a chapter in an edited book because the entry has an individual author, the encyclopedia has an editor, and the whole work has a publisher.

A retrieval date is not needed because this version of the entry is archived.

Graham, G. (2019). Behaviorism. In E. N. Zalta (Ed.), The Stanford encyclopedia of phi-

losophy (Summer 2019 ed.). Stanford University. https://plato.stanford.edu/archives/

sum2019/entries/behaviorism/

Parenthetical citation: (Graham, 2019)
Narrative citation: Graham (2019)

For more book and reference work examples, please refer to the APA Manual, 7th ed. Section 10.3 and the APA Style website.