Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
south texas college

Downloading & Viewing eBooks: Online Only eBooks

Welcome to the eBooks Subject Guide. This guide is designed to help in downloading and viewing eBooks from our various databases.

Online Only eBooks

This section of the Guide has ebooks that are intended for online use and cannot be downloaded to be viewed "offline" to a personal computer. However, all sections of the books have printable views and email a link to yourself for quicker access. 

These databases do not require any specific apps to be able to view eBooks.

If you are trying to access any database from off-campus, please sign into the Library’s proxy server first. You can get there by clicking the Accounts & Renewals link on the Services Links toolbar on the left side of the Library’s homepage and then by clicking the Access Databases Off-Campus link to sign into the Proxy.

ProQuest Safari Books

This area of the guide is to assist you with viewing eBooks from the ProQuest Safari Books database for both Android and iOS devices. Follow the steps in the tabs above for a step-by-step walkthrough.

The process for both Android and iOS platforms is the same.

It is advised that you view the following websites using the Safari browser (for iOS), stock Android Internet browser or Google Chrome browser.

Go either the main Safari Books Online’s main site, or view it on their optimized mobile site

Use the search tool to begin searching for eBooks.

On the results list, find an item that you wish to view.

Once you have chosen an eBook to read, click on the Start Reading button on the far right of the page. It’ll then open in your browser and can be read from there.  You are also able to bookmark pages so that you can continue where you left off. 

Psychiatry Online – DSM Library

This area of the guide is to assist you with viewing eBooks from the Psychiatry Online – DSM Library database for both Android and iOS devices. Follow the steps in the tabs above for a step-by-step walkthrough.

The process for both Android and iOS platforms is the same.

It is advised that you view the following websites using the Safari browser (for iOS), stock Android Internet browser or Google Chrome browser.

Go to the DSM Psychiatry Online website

Use the search tool to begin searching for articles.

On the results list, find an item that you wish to view.

Once you have chosen a section to read, you can either print the areas you wish to have, or email them to yourself for later viewing. 

Encyclopædia Britannica

This area of the guide is to assist you with viewing eBooks from the Encyclopædia Britannica database for both Android and iOS devices. Follow the steps in the tabs above for a step-by-step walkthrough.

In order for this database to work properly, use the Google Chrome browser. For iOS users, please make sure the Request Desktop Site option is selected from Google Chrome's options.

Go to the Encyclopædia Britannica website.

Use the search tool to begin searching for articles.

On the results list, find an item that you wish to view.

Once you have chosen a section to read, you can either print the areas you wish to have, or bookmark them to yourself for later viewing.

Oxford Reference

This area of the guide is to assist you with viewing eBooks from the Oxford Reference database for both Android and iOS devices. Follow the steps in the tabs above for a step-by-step walkthrough.

The process for both Android and iOS platforms is the same.

It is advised that you view the following websites using the Safari browser (for iOS), stock Android Internet browser or Google Chrome browser.

Go to the Oxford Reference website.

Use the search tool to begin searching for articles.

 

On the results list, find an item that you wish to view.

Once you have chosen a section to read, you can either print the areas you wish to have, or bookmark them to yourself for later viewing.

Contact Us

Visit the Hours and Contacts page to see how you can get in touch with a librarian to assist you with your research.

Hours & Contacts