Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free eBook Collections
We've collected the best sites on the Internet that offer free eBooks available to anyone with Internet access. Get links to eBook sits on literature, history, multiple topics, more topics or eBooks you can download.
Amazon Kindle Free eBook Collections
Free classics and out-of-copyright, pre-1923 books, as well as limited-time free promotional ebooks available for Kindle.
This simple to explore site lists completely free books from a variety of different authors. The site’s purpose is to bring public domain books from sites like Project Gutenberg into a form easily readable in a web browser.
Barnes & Noble Free eBooks
Use on your Nook, Nook software or Barnes & Noble eReader software or app.
Internet publisher of literature, reference, and verse providing students and researchers with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.
Over 1000 free e-textbooks for university students, books for business professionals and travel guides in PDF format. Main focus areas are Business/Economics, Engineering/Natural Sciences and IT.
Classical Chinese Literature
Chinese classics with each character hyperlinked to its definition and etymology.
Users can read an ebook in daily installments, delivered by mail or RSS feed. Apart from DailyLit’s own serialized fiction, you can find here hundreds of classic novels. Pride and Prejudice and War of the Worlds were two first books offered on platform’s launch in 2006. The site lists books in 14 categories, including short stories, horror, and coming of age.
Documenting The American South
Created by the University of North Carolina. This site provides access to a large number of primary source documents relevant to the history of the Southeastern United States including Texas.
eBooks@Adelaide (No Longer Being Updated)
The purpose of this site is: to provide access to the “classic” works of civilisation; to promote reading of the same; and for the editor to have fun.
If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given us permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy.
Great Books and Classics
A repository of works of classic writers and philosophers, from Sophocles to Epicurus, to Sun-Tzu. The books in digital format can be read here online as html files.
Internet Archive - Texts
The Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library with the stated mission: "universal access to all knowledge."
NetGalley delivers secure, digital galleys to professional readers. If you are a reviewer, blogger, journalist, librarian, bookseller, educator, or in the media, you can use NetGalley for FREE to read and request titles before they are published.
Online Books Page
Maintained by the University of Pennsylvania Library with more than one million free books on the web.
A downloadable eBook collection with books contributed from libraries across the country.
Project Gutenberg is the first and and one of the largest collections of electronic books.
UC Press E-Books Collection
Almost 2,000 electronic editions of academic books managed by the Publishing Group at the California Digital Library.
University of Pittsburg Digital Editions
The University of Pittsburgh Press and the University Library System (ULS) have formed a partnership to make books published by the Press available online.
Victorian Women Writers Project
Provides access to transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century.
Wright American Fiction (1851-1875)
A collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 2,887 volumes included.
Free eBook News and Info
- Get notified when new free books are available on Amazon.com.
Free Book List: see a sortable list of all free contemporary titles offered by Amazon.com.
Price Drop Notifications: get notified when the price on a book drops in price by the amount you specify.
Now On Kindle Notifications: get notified when a book becomes available for Kindle.
The Digital Reader
A news, reviews, and opinion blog about eBooks and eReaders.
Mobile Read Forums
Community forum with posts about eBooks, ereaders, eBook software, eBook formats, and more.
Visit the Hours and Contacts page to see how you can get in touch with a librarian to assist you with your research.