This website is maintained by the Descendants of the Mexican War Veterans. It includes a history, chronologies, resources, and primary source documents about the U.S.-Mexican War of 1846-1848.
This website is maintained by the Department of History and the College of Education at The University of Houston. This site contains a large amount of information relevant to American history; it includes a textbook, historic documents, an interactive timeline, and more.
The Early Americas Digital Archive (EADA) is a collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820.
This website is supported by the Gilder Lehrman Institute, which is a non-profit organization that promotes the study of history. This website contains a large amount of historical information relevant to American history including a collection of historic documents.
This digital memorial raises questions about the largest slave trades in history and offers access to the documentation available to answer them. Analyze these slave trades and view interactive maps, timelines, and animations to see the dispersal in action.
The 1619 Project is an ongoing initiative from The New York Times Magazine that began in August 2019, the 400th anniversary of the beginning of American slavery. It aims to reframe the country’s history by placing the consequences of slavery and the contributions of black Americans at the very center of our national narrative.
The Digital Harlem website presents information, drawn from legal records, newspapers and other archival and published sources, about everyday life in New York City's Harlem neighborhood in the years 1915-1930. Most of the material relates to the years 1920, 1925, and 1930.
SSDA holdings include more than 700,000 digital images drawn close to 2,000 unique volumes dating from the sixteenth through twentieth centuries that document the lives of an estimated four to six million individuals. This collection contains the most extensive serial records for the history of Africans in the Atlantic World, and also includes valuable information about the indigenous, European, and Asian populations who lived alongside them.
A place where researchers, academics, teachers, students, genealogists, filmmakers, and the community at large find primary (historical documents) and secondary sources about the history and culture of the Puerto Rican diaspora.
A media rich, annotated Scalar research hub that highlights a political/ideological journey of the women of the Chicana Caucus of the National Women’s Political Caucus (NWPC) from 1973 to 1979.
Provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Focuses on 20th and 21st century American court cases, legislation, and events that had important impacts on civil rights in Chicana/o/x, Hispanic, Latina/o/x, Mexican-American and Puerto Rican communities.
The Onda Latina Collection consists of 226 digitally preserved audio programs including interviews, music, and informational programs related to the Mexican American community and their concerns from the radio series "The Mexican American Experience" and "A esta hora conversamos" the Longhorn Radio Network, 1976-1982.
The Texas Digital Newspaper Program (TDNP) partners with communities, publishers, and institutions to provide digital issues of historical Texas newspapers and to make them freely accessible via The Portal to Texas History.
The purpose of Texas Beyond History is to interpret and share the results of archaeological and historical research on the cultural heritage of Texas with the citizens of Texas and the world.
Oral history project supported by the University of Texas at Brownsville. This site contains interviews, photographs, film clips and music that highlight the unique history and culture of the Rio Grande Valley.
The University of Texas and the Library of Congress both maintain this large collection of photographs taken by Robert Runyon of the Rio Grande Valley from 1900 to 1920.
This site is maintained by the University of Texas at Arlington. It provides access to recorded interviews from Tejanos and Tejanas discussing their struggles against racism in post World War II Texas.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation.
Here you will find our digital collection of items related to the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, pre-genocide history and post-genocide reconstruction processes. Our materials are also preserved and accessible at our physical archive which is located at the Kigali Genocide Memorial.
These primary sources are drawn from the emergence of resistance movements in the 1980s, the events of 1989, and the immediate aftermath in Eastern Europe.
