Skip to Main Content
OER Organizations and Portals
OASIS
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records.
OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
Real-time federated search for OER content
OpenStax
"OpenStax College offers students free textbooks that meet scope and sequence requirements for most courses. These are peer-reviewed texts written by professional content developers. Adopt a book today for a turnkey classroom solution or modify it to suit your teaching approach. Free online and low-cost in print, OpenStax College books are built for today’s student budgets."
MERLOT
Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT)
"MERLOT is a free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community....
MERLOT is a program of the California State University System partnering with education institutions, professional societies, and industry."
BCcampus OpenEd Resources
Funded by British Columbia's Ministry of Advanced Education. BCCampus OpenEd has over 40 open textbooks for first and second year undergraduate courses. Digital texts are freely downloadable.
OpenMichigan
Collection of OER from University of Michigan including a range from course materials, videos, lectures, student work and more. Nearly all of the content here is openly licensed for reuse under Creative Commons.
Open Textbook Library
Project of the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network providing access to reviewed open textbooks from several sources.
Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
Growing consortium of community and technical colleges committed to open education. Find links to sources to search for OER.
Cool4Ed
California Open Online Library for Education
OER Repositories
OERTX
"OERTX Repository is a public digital library of open educational resources for higher education. Search collections or create and collaborate to improve instruction."
OER Commons
Searchable database of OER content.
OpenStax CNX
Open courses and resources initiative hosted by Rice University.
AMSER Applied Math and Science Education Repository
"AMSER is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use."
Open Course Library
The Open Course Library is a project to design and share 81 high enrollment, general education, and pre-college courses. The Open Course Library is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, assessments. These materials can be used for face-to-face, hybrid and online delivery.
The Open Course Library is funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and the Washington State Legislature.
Curriki
Provides over 40,000 learning resources covering multiple subjects. Most material supports K-12 classes. However, it does contain some college level materials as well.
Created by Curriki a non-profit organization
SUNY Open Textbooks
"Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants. This pilot initiative publishes high-quality, cost-effective course resources by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.
The pilot launched in 2012, providing an editorial framework and service to authors, students and faculty, and establishing a community of practice among libraries. The first pilot is publishing 15 titles in 2013, with a second pilot to follow that will add more textbooks and participating libraries."
Wisc-Online (Wisconsin Online Revolution Center)
"Wisc-Online is a digital library of learning objects created by technical college faculty and multimedia developers. Fox Valley Technical College oversees the operation of Wisc-Online with guidance from the Wisc-Online Advisory Council."
IntechOpen
InTech is a multidisciplinary open access publisher of books in the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine.
Skills Commons
Free and Open digital library of Workforce Training Materials
COERLL
The Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning - language OER for the Internet public.
Open Courses
edX
"EdX offers interactive online classes and MOOCs from the world’s best universities. Online courses from MITx, HarvardX, BerkeleyX, UTx and many other universities. Topics include biology, business, chemistry, computer science, economics, finance, electronics, engineering, food and nutrition, history, humanities, law, literature, math, medicine, music, philosophy, physics, science, statistics and more. EdX is a non-profit online initiative created by founding partners Harvard and MIT."
MIT OpenCourseWare
MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
This is a project of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).
Academic Earth
Academic Earth has gathered together links to more than 750 free online courses from top universities.
National Repository of Online Courses (NROC)
The National Repository of Online Courses (NROC) is a repository of online courses including High School, Advanced Placement, and College level courses. This is an Open Educational Resources project of the Monterey Institute of Technology and Education supported by a grant from The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation.
Saylor Academy
Saylor provides free online asynchronous college level courses with exams.
Open Culture
Open Culture was founded in 2006. Find free online courses, textbooks, ebooks, audio books, movies, language lessons and more searched from the internet and curated all together in one location for easy access.
Khan Academy
Widely popular, Khan Academy started in 2004 providing Math and Science tutorials and has expanded to include open educational resources for other subjects as well.
OpenLearn-The Open University
"The Open University provides high-quality distance learning for all....The Open University is incorporated by Royal Charter (RC 000391), an exempt charity in England & Wales and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 038302). "
Open Course Library
"The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts."
Open Courseware Consortium
"The Open Education Consortium is a worldwide community of hundreds of higher education institutions and associated organizations committed to advancing open education and its impact on global education. "
Stanford Online
Open courses and resources from Stanford University
