Research Guides: Information Technology: Open Educational Resources

Welcome

This guide can help you find Computer Science / Information Technology materials from various OER providers.

Please visit the Open Educational Resources Subject Guide to learn more about the following:

General OER providers
Finding and evaluating OER
Licensing
Attribution

Helpful Websites

Cometdocs
A free online document management system for sharing, converting, and storing files.
Coursera - Computer Science
An online collection of computer science courses, including many that are free.
GitHub
A large collection of free programming eBooks.
Microsoft Imagine
Download Microsoft software for free.
SourceForge
A large collection of free open source software.
w3schools.com
A web development portal with examples, tutorials, and quizzes in several web programming languages.
Zamzar
A free online tool that converts a wide variety of file formats.

Discovery Search

Open Educational Textbooks

Database Design 2nd Edition

Database Design - 2nd Edition covers database systems and database design concepts. New to this edition are SQL info, additional examples, key terms and review exercises at the end of each chapter.

Written by: Adrienne Watt

Licensing: CC BY 4.0

Think Java: How to Think Like a Computer Scientist

Think Java is an introduction to computer science and programming intended for readers with little or no experience. We start with the most basic concepts and are careful to define all terms when they are first used. The book presents each new idea in a logical progression. Larger topics, like recursion and object oriented programming, are divided into smaller examples and introduced over the course of several chapters.

Written by: Allen B. Downey

Licensing: Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 License

Eloquent JavaScript: A Modern Introduction to Programming

This book contains roughly three parts. The first 11 chapters discuss the JavaScript language itself. The next eight chapters are about web browsers and the way JavaScript is used to program them. Finally,two chapters are devoted to Node.js, another environment to program JavaScript in.Throughout the book, there are five project chapters, which describe larger example programs to give you a taste of real programming. In order of appearance, we will work through building an artificial life simulation,a programming language, a platform game, a paint program,and a dynamic website.

Written by: Marijn Haverbeke

Licensing: (CC BY-NC 3.0)

Computer Networking: Principles, Protocols and Practice

"Computer Networking : Principles, Protocols and Practice" is an open-source ebook that explains the main principles of Computer Networking and the key protocols that are used on the Internet.

Written by: Bonaventure, Olivier

Licensing: CC BY 4.0

OER Resources from pressbooks

Subject OER Collections

Merlot
MERLOT is a collection of online resources curated by a community of faculty, staff, and students of higher education. This subset of the MERLOT collection features openly licensed textbooks for use by students and faculty. MERLOT allows its users to rate materials and comment on specific resources.
BC Campus Open Educational
October 16, 2012 B.C. Open Textbook Project was created. The goal of the project was to make higher education more accessible by reducing student cost through the use of openly licensed textbooks. BCcampus was tasked with co-ordination of the project because of our 10-year experience funding open educational resources (OER) through the Online Program Development Fund.
Open Textbook Library
Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution. Many have been reviewed by faculty from Open Textbook Network member institutions.

Open Courses

edX "EdX offers interactive online classes and MOOCs from the world’s best universities. Online courses from MITx, HarvardX, BerkeleyX, UTx and many other universities. Topics include biology, business, chemistry, computer science, economics, finance, electronics, engineering, food and nutrition, history, humanities, law, literature, math, medicine, music, philosophy, physics, science, statistics and more. EdX is a non-profit online initiative created by founding partners Harvard and MIT."
MIT OpenCourseWare MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity. This is a project of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).
Academic Earth Academic Earth has gathered together links to more than 750 free online courses from top universities.
National Repository of Online Courses (NROC) The National Repository of Online Courses (NROC) is a repository of online courses including High School, Advanced Placement, and College level courses. This is an Open Educational Resources project of the Monterey Institute of Technology and Education supported by a grant from The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation.
Saylor Academy Saylor provides free online asynchronous college level courses with exams.
Open Culture Open Culture was founded in 2006. Find free online courses, textbooks, ebooks, audio books, movies, language lessons and more searched from the internet and curated all together in one location for easy access.
Khan Academy Widely popular, Khan Academy started in 2004 providing Math and Science tutorials and has expanded to include open educational resources for other subjects as well.
OpenLearn-The Open University "The Open University provides high-quality distance learning for all....The Open University is incorporated by Royal Charter (RC 000391), an exempt charity in England & Wales and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 038302). "
Open Course Library "The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts."
Open Courseware Consortium "The Open Education Consortium is a worldwide community of hundreds of higher education institutions and associated organizations committed to advancing open education and its impact on global education. "
Udacity
OEDb-Open Education Database
Class Central
Stanford Online Open courses and resources from Stanford University
Open Yale Courses
Coursera