Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
south texas college

Dual Credit: Dual Credit Faculty

Welcome to STC Library

Course Reserves

Each library has a Reserves Desk where faculty may place books, articles, and other items that you want to make widely available to students in particular classes. Reserve items are checked out for two-hour periods and cannot be removed from the library.

Placing an item on reserve under your name is a simple matter of bringing it to a library and filling out this Course Reserve Form.   

It is very important that you read our Copyright of Reserves guidelines and that your reserve materials comply with copyright law. If you have questions about the process, please do not hesitate to contact the Reserves Desk at your campus library.

  • Mid-Valley: (956) 447-6663
  • Nursing & Allied Health: (956) 872-3121
  • Pecan: (956) 872-2143
  • Starr County: (956) 488-5820
  • Technology: (956) 872-6120

For more information, please visit our Course Reserves Page.

Follow us!

Facebook  Twitter  YouTube  Instagram

Collection Development and YOU

College libraries rely on faculty input for the collection. No one knows better than you what you are teaching and which books will be most useful to your students. We need your help to make our collection even better!

You can suggest specific books or just let us know if you need books on specific subjects.

For more information on our Collection Development process/guidelines and how you can help, please visit our Collection Management Page.

Library Instruction Services

The STC Library offers library instruction sessions for classes in every subject.  In these sessions, we introduce students to the services available at the library and show them how to do research at the library using our online catalog and electronic databases. 

Why have library instruction for your class?

  • Encourages Students To Use Critical Thinking Skills - Evaluating the quality of the sources they find is frequently a new concept to college students. Library instruction can show them how to use critical thinking skills to evaluate their sources.
  • Improves Quality of Student Research and Papers - When students use better quality sources, the quality of their papers improve. Some students have reported higher grades on their papers after library instruction made them familiar with library resources and how to best use them.                                                                                                                         
  • Reduces Student Perceived Barriers to Requesting Help - Once they've been in the library and interacted with a librarian, they feel more comfortable asking for help when they need it.

If you are interested in arranging a session for your class:

  • please fill out the Library Instruction Session form,
  • contact the Academic Outreach Librarian, Ana Naumann at anaumann@southtexascollege.edu, or
  • call us at one of the numbers below:
    • Mid-Valley: (956) 447-6663
    • Nursing & Allied Health: (956) 872-3121
    • Pecan: (956) 872-2623
    • Starr County: (956) 488-5820
    • Technology: (956) 872-6120

For more information, please visit our Library Instruction Services Page.

Library Liaison Program

Each academic department has been assigned a library liaison in order to:

  1. Serve as the department's point of contact for information about library resources and services
  2. Ensure the library continues to collect materials that support the curriculum for that subject area. 

What can your library liaison do for you?

  • Order books or other materials that will support what you are teaching
  • Create a custom subject guide for your class
  • Inform you about new resources or services the library is offering

How can faculty help the library?

  • Invite your liaison to department meetings
  • Share information about your program with your liaison
  • Tell your liaison if you have any library-related needs, concerns and/or suggestions
  • Tell your liaison when you are re-designing your curricula and planning to add new courses
  • Suggest materials for purchase to support the curriculum in your area

Find your Library Liaison

Password Help

Students, faculty, and staff should use their JagNet username/password. If you have forgotten your password, visit the MyPassword Online Assistant.

Technical Assistance

For technical assistance, please contact our IT Service Desk: (956) 872 - 2111

If the ISPP&SI Help Desk is closed, but the Pecan Library is open, we may be able to assist you at (956) 872-2212.

If you need assistance with linking to Blackboard or are having issues with any of our databases, please contact the Collection Management & Acquisitions Librarian, Patricia Saenz at:

  • (956) 872-2323, or
  • psaenz8@southtexascollege.edu

Library Events

STC Library holds events that can help support your curriculum. If you also have an idea in mind, please feel free to contact us.

Contact Us

Visit the Hours and Contacts page to see how you can get in touch with a librarian to assist you with your research.

Hours & Contacts