Research Guides: Anthropology: Writing & Citing

Citation Style Guides

TypeCite
TypeCite allows you to quickly switch between MLA, APA, and Harvard styles, compiling citations for print books, ebooks, journal articles, and websites.
Zotero
Free, easy to use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.

Evaluating Sources & Information Bias
Learn how to determine if a resource has bias and how to evaluate different types of sources.
Research Skills Crash Course
This series of lessons covers information literacy and library research skills that will enable you to use information in a scholarly and ethical way.

Visit the tutoring center (CLE) in person or online for writing help.

Grammar
Resources on grammar topics, such as count and noncount nouns, articles (a versus an), subject-verb agreement, and prepositions.
Punctuation
Resources to help you with punctuation, such as using commas, quotation marks, apostrophes, and hyphens.
Writing Mechanics
Resources on writing issues, such as active and passive voice, parallel sentence structure, parts of speech, and transitions.

Copyright & Fair Use
Provides a basic overview of copyright and fair use.
Avoiding Plagiarism
Welcome to this short tutorial that includes tips on how to identify types of plagiarism and how to avoid it.

Annotated Bibliographies
This handout provides information about annotated bibliographies in MLA, APA, and CMS.
Argument Papers
This resource outlines the generally accepted structure for introductions, body paragraphs, and conclusions in an academic argument paper.
Book Report
This resource discusses book reports and how to write them.
Exploratory Papers
This resource will help you with exploratory/inquiry essay assignments.
Research Papers
This handout provides detailed information about how to write research papers including discussing research papers as a genre, choosing topics, and finding sources.
Writing about Literature
These OWL resources will help you write about literature and poetry. This section contains resources on literary terms, literary theory and schools of criticism, as well as resources on writing book reviews.