Research Guides: BIOL 1408 Course Guide: Getting Started

Liaison

Lorie Navarro

Email Me

Contact:

3201 W. Pecan Blvd - F.122
McAllen, TX 78501

956.872.2623

Biology for Non-Science Majors 1

This course guide has been customized to assist you with BIOL1408.

Course Description

An overview of the fundamental principles of living organisms including physical and chemical properties of life, cellular organization and function. Concepts of metabolic pathways, cellular respiration, photosynthesis, mitosis, meiosis, and molecular biology of the gene, genetics, biotechnology, evolutionary adaptation and the scientific method are included.

The Centers for Learning Excellence (CLE) is all about student success, and successful students work with tutors to gain a deeper understanding of course concepts, writing, APA and other citation styles, time management and more! Schedule an appointment to meet with a tutor today or stop by one of our centers today!

Tutoring
The CLE offers onsite tutoring at six campus centers with or without an appointment. Online tutoring is also available to all enrolled students any time day or night. Tutoring is offered for most subjects taught at STC, including math, science and writing. CLE online services include a submit-and-return option for paper review.
Academic Coaching
Academic Coaches meet with students individually to strengthen the skills needed to be successful in any course. Personalized coaching is available to students by appointment, onsite or online, and walk-ins are accommodated as possible. Coaches provide students with semester-long support in developing skills like using a planner, developing a study plan, avoiding procrastination, reading college-level textbooks, managing time more effectively, or improving communication.

Discovery Search
Use the Library's Discovery Search, a "one-stop-shop" for searching over 60% of all the Library's resources.
For more focused material, see the "Books, eBooks, Videos & Articles" tab for curated content that will assist you in finding a starting point for your research.
Writing & Citing
Not sure how to cite your sources using the American Psychological Association (APA) style or any other style? Visit the "Writing & Citing" tab for a general overview of the different citing styles. It also feature guides on how to write different types of research papers, such as exploratory and argumentative papers.
APA Citation Style
This guide provides in-depth coverage of the APA citation formatting style.

The South Texas College Library has self-paced, interactive tutorials that help students and faculty successfully utilize library resources. Learn more about the library, how to search for information, and how to avoid plagiarism by following writing and citing best practices.

Some examples include:

Searching Library Databases
Learn how to search the online databases.
Choosing a Research Topic
Learn the steps to choosing a good research topic.
Searching for Books
Learn how to search for books in the library.
Online Library Orientation
Learn about the various resources and services that the Library offers through this interactive tutorial.
Avoiding Plagiarism
Tips on how to identify types of plagiarism and how to avoid it.

For curated content for all things Biology, see our Biology Research Guide (Will open in a new tab).

Discovery Search is available from that page, so there's no need to go back to the Library's website.

Find a list of databases best suited for biological research.

Not sure what citation style to use, or even how to cite books, artwork, and videos in MLA, APA. and Chicago? Check out the Writing & Citing Guide (Will open in a new tab) for assistance with these areas. It also features guides on how to write different types of research papers, such as exploratory and argumentative papers.

There are also several how-tos from the Purdue Online Writing Lab, and several tools for generating proper citation/bibliographies.

Discovery Search - includes the library catalog and most databases

Research Starters

Best Databases for Biology

ScienceDirect
Vast collection of journals and ebooks in the sciences and humanities.
For more assistance, please view the Science Direct tutorial.
SciTech Premium Collection
Contains specialized scholarly research and technical literature, including the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection.
For more assistance, please view the SciTech Premium Collection tutorial.
GreenFILE
Journals covering various aspects of human impact on the environment.
For more assistance, please view the GreenFile tutorial.
Science & Technology Collection
Journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community.
For more assistance, please view the Science & Technology Collection tutorial.
JoVE
Science education videos that teach fundamentals through easy-to-understand demonstrations.
Films on Demand
Online videos in the humanities, social sciences, business, science, health & medicine, careers, and technical & trade education.
For more assistance, please view the Films on Demand tutorial.

For more Biology resources, visit our Databases page.