Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Most networks have a handful of episodes of their current shows to stream. ABC.com offers this, but also full runs of a handful of canceled shows, including classics like My So-Called Life and Felicity; newer treats like Ugly Betty and The Muppets reboot.
CrunchyRoll.com is the place to stream anime online. With hundreds of anime series, and a few live-action Japanese dramas, you can stream lower-res, ad-supported videos for free, then chat about them in the community.
CW Seed has a couple-dozen TV series you can watch, in their entirety, for free. This includes the complete run of CW shows like The Secret Circle, Who’s Line Is It Anyway?, and Hellcats; off-network shows like The Ghost Whisperer, Pushing Daisies, and Schitt’s Creek; and original animations like Supernatural: The Anime Series and Constantine: City of Demons.
TV and Movies
From the same people who run Comet comes Charge, which is dedicated to action programming. Like Comet, it is all streaming
Comet is a broadcast TV channel that focuses on science-fiction, including titles like They Came from Beyond Space, House on Haunted Hill, Flash Gordon, David Cronenberg‘s Existenz, and both Blacula and Scream Blacula Scream. They don’t offer anything on-demand, but you can stream the channel for free in a web browser and via a variety of apps.
IMDb TV is Amazon's way of offering ad-supported movie streaming independent of Amazon Prime. And it's not limited to movies; there are TV shows available as well. Unfortunately, there's a viewing limitation: The service can be accessed only on PCs and within Prime Video and IMDb apps.
The Internet Archive is a non-profit collection that includes over four million videos. They are largely public domain films; short films uploaded by their creators; TV news reels; movie trailers; and stock footage. Some highlights: George Romero‘s Night of the Living Dead; Ed Wood‘s Plan 9 From Outer Space; The Sheik starring Rudolf Valentino; several Charlie Chaplin classics; 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea; episodes of The Three Stooges; vintage cartoons like Woody Woodpecker and Popeye; and my personal favorite, mental hygiene films.
Watch thousands of free movies and TV shows, as well as stream your own personal collection of movies, TV episodes, music and podcasts!
This is basically cable TV without the cable. It offers over 100 free streaming channels, including movies, sports, news, classic TV, and semi-recent reality television. There are channels devoted entirely to Doctor Who, Dora the Explorer, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, anime, Comedy Central Roasts, Antiques Roadshow, and Mystery Science Theater 3000.
In addition to the standard collection of free, ad-supported movies and a handful of TV shows, Popcorn Flix also has a “viral video” section that is like a curated YouTube. They also offer original films.
The Roku Channel
The Roku Channel isn't a free-movie provider, but contains no-cost content. Thus, don't be surprised if there's some overlap with some of the movies available on other services. You'll find movies from Roku partners such as Lionsgate, MGM, Sony and Warner, along with free content from existing Roku channels such as FilmRise, Popcornflix and Vidmark. The channel is accessible in desktop web browsers.
If you are familiar with Shout Factory, then their streaming selection will satisfy your viewing needs. Digging in to the vast Shout Factory catalogue of cult, underground, foreign, and generally weird films, every genre is represented here: horror, sci-fi, comedy, drama, martial arts, western, action, and documentaries. The standouts here are collections of the original Mystery Science Theater 3000 films, Riff Trax, and Elvira’s Movie Macabre. Most of the films come from the 1980s or earlier, so if you are looking for a new release, it’s not here.
Sling TV has made a selection of its content available to stream for free, no credit card or account required. The free offering includes breaking news and live events from ABC News Live, movies and kids’ content for families and other lifestyle and entertainment programming.
SnagFilms promises “philanthropic movies and TV shows” for those people who are “looking for something different.” You will find documentaries covering a broad stretch of topics (politics, music, food and health, war and history, LGBTQ), public domain classics, and a swath of foreign and domestic films you have probably never heard of. They’ve also got some classics.
Hundreds of free movies, TV shows, and originals, all ad-supported. Unsurprisingly, everything is a Sony project.
Watch free movies and TV shows online in HD on any device. Tubi offers streaming movies in genres like Action, Horror, Sci-Fi, Crime and Comedy.
Walmart's Vudu video service contains an ad-supported section, which allows viewers to choose from a generous selection of movies (mostly older titles) to watch at no charge. This option does require you to have a Vudu account, but it's free to set one up.
Films on Demand
Online videos in the humanities, social sciences, business, science, health & medicine, careers, and technical & trade education. You will be asked to provide your Jagnet username and password.
Contains streaming videos, including documentaries, independent films, and foreign films. You will be asked to provide your Jagnet username and password.
Watch 1,150 movies free online. Includes classics, indies, film noir, documentaries and other films.