Research Guides: Fine Arts: Websites & More

eTextbooks & Open Resources

Open Educational Resources (OER) are freely accessible, openly licensed text and media used for teaching and learning. It is a leading trend in distance learning.

Art-Specific Open Educational Resources
Khan Academy
Boundless
Wikibooks
DOAB

Citing Artstor

MLA Citation for images from ARTstor:

Last, First name of the artist. Title of work. Year of Composition. Name of Museum or Current Location, City. Database Name. Web. Day Month Year of Access.

MLA Citation example:

Hopper, Edward. House by the Railroad. 1925. Museum of Modern Art, New York City. ARTstor. Web. 9 Feb. 2008.

______________

For more information, see the MLA Handbook 8th ed., and the Publication Manual of the APA 6th ed.

Library Art Gallery

Useful Links

Glasstire: Texas Visual Art
Learn about art exhibits happening around Texas
Getty Museum: Open Content Program
The Getty adopted the Open Content Program to share images of works of art in an unrestricted manner, for greater access to high-quality digital images.
Turn of the Century Posters
Over 1,000 American and European posters printed from 1893 through the first years of the 20th-century. The collection represents the inception and heyday of magazine, book, and newspaper posters of the last decade of the 19th-century, and well into the 20th-century.
Artists in Context
Artists working for just societies in the US and around the world

Films on Demand

Films on Demand is a library database that offers online videos in the humanities, social science, business, health & medicine, careers, and technical & trade education. See below featured art documentaries or visit the Films on Demand to browse through hundreds of other visual art films.

Please have your STC username & password to view these videos.

Fernando Botero: Searching for the Heroic in Art (54:00) 2003
*Also available in the Pecan physical collection*

Fernando Botero’s distinctive style—smooth inflated shapes with unexpected shifts in scale—reflects the Colombian artist’s constant search to give volume presence and reality. This program combines commentary by Botero himself with abundant examples of his paintings and sculptures.

Woven Lives: Contemporary Textiles from Ancient Oaxacan Traditions (77:00) 2011

Textile art and artists play an active role in the culture of the Zapotec communities in Oaxaca, Mexico. Following the work and daily lives of weavers from six different villages in the region, this documentary traces the evolution of their weaving tradition from its early development millennia ago to the present day.

¡Hay Tiempo! The Photography of Manuel Álvarez Bravo—in Spanish
(53:00) 2007

Revered for his political insights as well as his dreamlike images, the Mexican photographer Manuel Álvarez Bravo produced a stunning body of work and an indelible artistic legacy. This program offers an eye-opening look at Álvarez Bravo’s century of life and achievement. (Spanish)

Image Libraries

Institutions are releasing their image collections online and into the public-domain. This is good news for artists!

New York Public Library - 180,000 images --including maps, posters, manuscripts, sheet music, drawings, photographs, letters, ancient texts --as high-resolution downloads, available to the public without restriction

http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/

NASA Library of Space Sounds--rocket sounds, the chirps of satellites and equipment, lightning on Jupiter, interstellar plasma and radio emissions--all in the public domain and free to use in your art or music.

Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/nasa

Collection: https://archive.org/details/nasaaudiocollection